The Ordinary Haul!

Hello and welcome to another haul! This time, it is a skincare haul of one of the most anticipated brands, The Ordinary. The Ordinary has become famous for their affordability of their skincare range that include key ingredients that combat any forms of problematic skin.

Since I have been working at Lush, naturally most of my skincare has turned into Lush products – from their cleansers (Angels on Bare Skin)toners (Tea Tree Toner Water) & even some masks (Mask of Magnaminty)Whilst they have helped maintain my skin, I still have acne and scarring that was going to be impossible to get rid of naturally. I guess I have been put off by buying decent skincare because of the price point, so when the Ordinary came about, I decided to bite the bullet and purchase a few things. They all come in droppers which is hygienic and easy to control how much product you use. If you are considering The Ordinary, Beautylish has a simple breakdown on what each products are for, as well as Stephanie Nicole’s video on her extensive review on the brand. 

For reference, I would say I have combination skin, it gets more oily during the summer and in the winter, my nose and cheeks in particular do get dry. I started to get acne when I was 19, literally in the last year of my teens. Also, The Ordinary uses a lot of jargons which I don’t explain next, and to make it simple, I used quotes from their website and the packaging on the benefits and how to use them.

IMG_20170703_152451.jpg

The first product is the AHA 30% + BHA 2% Peeling Solution, pH ~3.6 (£6.25). According to Beautylish, this mask is great for brightening skin, improving tones, and fighting acne. It also includes black carrot and Tasmanian pepperberry. It is the only product that I purchased that is not supposed to be used daily, but rather at most, twice a week. I chose this product because it is not like other masks that I have used and it claims to be a concentrated mask so it’ll be interesting to see how effective it is in the long run.

IMG_20170703_152429.jpg

The second product is the Ascorbyl Glucoside Solution 12% (£9). It targets dullness, uneven skin tone, and signs of ageing. This was the product that I decided to purchase from Stephanie Nicole’s recommendation, albeit her having dry skin. She recommended this product because Ascorbyl Glucoside is a water-soluble derivative of Vitamin C. It was the most expensive product out of my haul, but it was still under £10, and it can be used twice a day.

IMG_20170703_152436.jpg

The third product is the Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2% (£5.50). There are two versions of the lactic acid, one in 10% and one in 5%. I opted to go for 5% because it is not as highly concentrated as the 10%, and to play it safe because I don’t know how my skin would react to highly concentrated acids. Lactic acid targets uneven skin tone, textural irregularities, and fine lines and like the peeling solution, it includes Tasmanian pepperberry which is great for reducing irritation. This is recommended to be used once a day and in collaboration with other treatments until your skin develops the tolerance.

IMG_20170703_152444.jpg

The last product I purchased is the Salicylic Acid 2% Solution (£4) with witch hazel. Salicylic acid is a well-known ingredient that tackles spots, so this is more of a spot treatment. However, I have been hit and miss with spot treatments so it’ll be interesting to see how this one plays out. Furthermore, it is the only product that is half the size, at 15ml instead of the 30ml.

To emphasise like every other person, skin is very subjective. What would work for me may not work for you. Therefore, I highly recommend doing some research on the brand if you are interested in changing up your skincare routine, or if you already use similar products, this could be an opportunity to find an affordable alternative. As I have just bought it, I will be using this over the summer to see any changes and will write an updated post on my experience.

I am hoping that the next time I’ll write a post, it’ll be film related! I have been MIA with reviews or even my own work, from within my course to externally. But until next time, thank you for reading and have a great day today!

tamanna x 

WHERE TO BUY THE ORDINARY:

AHA 30% + BHA 2% PEELING SOLUTION: The Ordinary, Beauty Bay, Beautylish, ASOS

ASCORBYL GLUCOSIDE SOLUTION 12%: The Ordinary, Beauty Bay, Beautylish, ASOS

LACTIC ACID 5% + HA 2%: The Ordinary, Beauty Bay, Beautylish, ASOS

SALICYLIC ACID 2% SOLUTION: The Ordinary, Beauty Bay, BeautylishASOS

 

Leave a Reply

