Gallery

Update and ELF haul

Edit: I’ve been re-arranging my blog (still too cheap to buy a domain), and decided to take some product shots just now. Hope you enjoy them! 

I’m FREEE…. Until September. A month after my last post, I finished my exams (it was only two, but I have not done exams since A2/final year of sixth form or pre-college for anyone outside the UK), and now I am home for 10 days celebrating the last week of Ramadan and Eid. I am going to London next week to see my friends and family too and then July is going to be filled with graduations, so it’ll be a lot of travelling back and forth home and university. Nonetheless, I wanted to shoe horn in a small haul from ELF (eyeslipsface) as they were promoting a 50% off everything on their website and I really wanted to try their things as well. I have bought their HD powder before but I found myself going back and forth with the product because I preferred the RCMA No Color powder because there was no flashback. 

The great thing is that here in the UK, ELF is coming to Superdrug! So if you are not patient about waiting for a delivery, then you can pop into your local store once they start to hit the shelves nationwide. I would say their prices without the 50% off of course, is close to Maybelline and Rimmel. Obviously, it is more pricier here than in the US as our prices include tax and drugstore makeup in general is more pricier here. But, if you do want to do a haul like I did, then ELF offers free delivery for orders £25 and over, and because you’re shopping through their UK site, you don’t need to worry about customs as it does ship from the US. Nonetheless, here is a quick review and overview of the products, I didn’t take any individual product photos this time.

img_20170614_210640-e1498074072620.jpgI have heard great things about their face products so naturally, all of their products besides the powder brush that isn’t pictured here, are face products including some skincare.

  1. ELF Prep and Hydrate Balm (£9): I was curious about their skincare range because there have been some people on YouTube who recommended it. I have combination skin with a slightly oily T-Zone so I’ve used this mostly around my cheeks where I tend to get the most dry. It is an easy way to hydrate target areas than having to use an all over face moisturiser.  [ELF]
  2. ELF Hydrating Face Primer (£7.50): All of my primers are pore minimising. Currently, I am using the Smashbox photo finish primer in the travel size (works out cheaper than getting the full size at £28!) but I have created a collection with the Too Faced Primed and Poreless, NYX Angel Veil, and the Bare Minerals primers. I need to use it more regularly to have a solid opinion but it will probably be handy during the winter seasons. [Superdrug] [ELF]
  3. ELF HD Undereye Setting Powder (£4.50): This is a lot smaller than I anticipated. That being said, it’s the most travel friendly loose powder I now have. It works really well with my Real Techniques Setting Powder which is my absolute favourite and a lot of product does not get distributed as opposed to the bigger setting powder. I’ve not checked how it looks in flash photography so I will have to try that soon. [Superdrug] [ELF]
  4. ELF Contour Palette (£7.50): I bought this in light/medium since i’m not usually around dark/deep named shades. For someone who enjoys makeup, I actually don’t have a lot of contour palettes, I think I only have five contour related products that include the Benefit Hoola Bronzer and the NYX contour kit as my other palette. They’re not as pigmented as the NYX powders, but I’m hoping for that to be a good sign for the powders to be buildable. [Superdrug] [ELF]
  5. ELF Blush and Bronzing Duo (£5): I bought this in the shade St Lucia – a supposed dupe for NARS Bronzing Duo in Orgasm/Laguna. Whilst I don’t have the original NARS compact, I really like how sleek the ELF duo is, it’s secure and travel friendly. I’ve used the bronzing shade as a contour because it’s not as warm for me to use as an all over bronzer and the blush is lighter than my other blushes whilst still giving me a natural flush. [Superdrug] [ELF]
  6. ELF Baked Highlighter (£5): I bought this in the shade Blushed Gems – renowned across the internet as the dupe for MAC Soft and Gentle. However, I am aware of the problems that the ELF highlighters have, in that being it’s not pigmented with its first layer and that you need to scrape the top off to really use the highlighter. I just appreciate how small and compact their face products are. [Superdrug] [ELF]
  7. ELF Makeup Mist and Set (£4.50): I am honestly looking for an affordable setting spray – I currently use the Urban Decay All Nighter in the travel size. I like how the mist on the ELF spray isn’t as harsh as the L’Oreal Fixing Mist which was a pain because you had to shake it up so much before using it. [Superdrug] [ELF]
  8. ELF Pointed Powder Brush (£7.50): I honestly needed to meet the free delivery and I find myself using so many brushes – I have gone through donating and giving up a lot of makeup that I actually need to start doing the same with my brushes, which is something that I will need to do once I am back in Norwich. [ELF]

In terms of other new makeup, I received a fair amount from friends and family, and around my birthday, I treated myself to the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Macadamia, and Lime Crime Lip Velvetine in Salem. Finally, from my lovely friend who went on her semester abroad, she got her hands on the Tarte Shape Tape Contour Concealer in Light-Medium Honey, which was surprisingly a good match for me as I was worried that it’ll be too light. Honestly, I would do a review post on the comparisons between the NARS, Tarte, and Urban Decay concealers but it has been done so many times that there is no point.

What is next for my three month summer? I am working but unlike last year, I am planning to go home frequently and I hope to explore and discover new things (and the standard trying to lose weight harharhar). I don’t get my results until the 17th July so I’ll patiently wait for that since it falls right before graduation week. I have an upcoming Jessops course this time next month, and for my blog, I’ll probably do a couple more posts over the summer to keep practice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Until next time!

tamanna x 

 

Leave a Reply

