Image

Jessops Level 2 Photography course

Yesterday marked the end of the semester for our four week Easter break – we still have teaching afterwards for another 3-4 weeks. Today, I went to a Jessops Level 2 Photography course in the Norwich store as I did my level one in Cambridge in April last year! It was a great experience, especially because I have no prior photography experience and I want to be familiar with my camera for both photography and film. As I buy most, if not, all of my equipment from Jessops because of how reliable they are (I bought a Rode Mic from Amazon and the wire didn’t work…) so sometimes you have to pay a bit extra to get the most reliable products. I have a few more on my wishlist over Easter and hopefully for my birthday but without further ado, here is my experience of today in words.

The main areas of the level two course was exposure and focus. There are plenty of dials that I had no idea what it was, and it was too complex for me to learn alone so the Jessops courses are honestly a great investment. I learned about the differences between the auto focuses and what type of photography they would be suited for. I would say that one of the most important things I took was the quick menu and how to use it a lot more from now on – sounds a bit mundane but I am too traditional and just go straight to the menu where there are, what feels like, millions of options to choose from. Another area I learned was about RAW and JPEG. My old phone, LG G4, used to shoot in raw, but phone cameras are nowhere near the quality of DSLR or in my case, mirrorless cameras. And finally, I learned about how to integrate post-production as beside film editing, I actually have little to no knowledge of photo editing besides Instagram and Prisma on my phone. Here are some of my favourite shots that I took today.

P1040072

doing an exposure lock and the spot metering format

P1040131

the blue was actually black as shown in previous image

P1040130

Changing the white balance was so fun!

An additional thing I learned was the camera flash and how to change it without washing out products or people – but I have decided to get a flash gun since the camera flash is too in your face. I hope to play around with my camera even more over the Easter break and shoot in RAW so I can learn and familiarise myself with Lightroom and Photoshop. The great thing about Jessops is that you can get £50 off courses if you purchase certain products – my Level 1 was purchased with my camera, my Level 2 was purchased with a lens, and my Videography level 1 course in May was purchased when I did my Level 1 course! There are other courses I am keen to take but when I have more money again. I hope you enjoyed my little experience, and I can’t wait to take my Videography course in May!

tamanna x

Here is the link to the Jessops Academy if you are interested 🙂

Leave a Reply

