Everyday Makeup Collection

As a way to downsize my collection, I have been using a old Birch-box to store my everyday makeup (or the days I usually wear it) so try and use up products that I have been meaning to use up. I wanted to do a last makeup related post of the month before I try and get into other parts of my blog to ‘juice it up again’.

FACE

IMG_20170129_204852.jpg

This is obviously going to be the biggest part of my collection with the amount of products I use. To make this easier, I will write it in the order of application.

Smashbox Photo Finish Pore Minimising Primer (£12.50/15ml): I bought this on student night shopping with a 10% off and used my Boots points to pay for it. I only put this around my nose, cheeks and chin and I do notice a difference around my nose as it does smooth it out. The pricing is strange since it’s £26 for the full size of 30ml so I do think you’re better off buying the travel size as it’s more than enough.

EX1 Invisiwear Liquid Foundation (£12/30ml): Again, student discount (I think most of my products are actually bought with a student discount). This was really hyped up on YouTube over the summer, and I really like the natural coverage it gives me, making it the perfect everyday foundation on a budget. When I first bought it, it only came in five shades but now they have expanded it and changed the shade names. As you can tell with my bottle, I have almost finished it, so I hope to use it up completely by the end of February. Shade: F200

LA Girl Pro Conceal (£2.99): When I bought mine, it was £3 but Beauty Bay sells it for £5. I honestly don’t know what the actual price is supposed to be in the UK. Nonetheless, I use this concealer to conceal spots as it’s full coverage and too dark for my undereyes. The applicator isn’t the best but I just use my finger to dab it on. Shade: Creamy Beige

Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer (£7.99/8g): I have gone through a good amount of these, but I’m getting bored (and finding it overpriced too). I completely took off the applicator so the sponge doesn’t soak up most of the product. I use it for my under eyes and T-Zone for a bit of brightness, first using a brush (or whatever tool I’m using) then using a sponge to blend it in even further as it does crease quite quickly due to its thin consistency. Shade: Light

L’Oreal Infallible Fixing Mist (£7.99/100ml): Before I get onto my MAC Fix+, I use this in two stages: at the end of my makeup and before I powder. I do a few sprays and go in with a sponge to make sure nothing is creased before I set it with powder and I find that it helps for my skin type especially during the winter season. It’s a preference if you do it after you powder too but I usually avoid that.

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder (£3.99/14g): I would buy this powder on a whim because it was the cheapest, recognisable brand that everyone liked. I actually dislike this powder, to the point that I am just wearing it for the sake of it. Maybe I’m using it wrong, but it just looks too cakey on me albeit eliminating the shine. It reaches a point on whether I want to look shiny or cakey with no in-between. I’m on a hunt for another affordable powder so if anyone has any recommendations, please let me know! Shade: Transparent

IMG_20170129_205008.jpg

Sleek Contour Kit (£6.99/n/a): I have had this for almost three years now, and it was the first compact that got me into makeup when contouring was the main huge trend. For my skin tone, I think the contour shade is perfect, and whilst I don’t use the highlighter as much, it is still a pretty champagne shade. However, since I have had this for a long time, I hope to get rid of it the moment it hits pan, like my Rimmel powder. Shade: Medium

NYX HD Blush (£5.5o/4.5g): I have only gotten into blushes slowly in the past year and as a result, the collection has started to build up. Whilst I know I am not going to pan this anytime soon, I will probably be switching my blushes each month so I don’t get fed up of the products. What I love about this range is that they have both shimmer and matte shades, the latter I wanted as I usually highlight for the glow factor. Shade: Amber

Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighter (£3/n/a): The packaging is terrible and bulky, and as mine is broken, I cannot travel with it. However the product itself is beautiful and incredibly pigmented. If you want to get into highlighting without the splurge, Makeup Revolution is the go-to brand. Despite using it as an everyday highlight, I tend to change it up on special occasions. And, I love using this highlight as a brow bone highlight. Shade: Golden Lights

EYES

IMG_20170129_205229.jpg

Rimmel Professional Eye Brow Pencil (£2.99/1.4g): This is a great fix for when you really can’t be bothered to do anything special to your eyebrows. Just fill in sparse areas and you’re done for the day. The annoying thing is that it doesn’t come with a brush end (seriously all brow products should come with one now), but for £3, you cannot go wrong with it. Shade: Black/Brown

NYX Tinted Brow Mascara (£5.50/6.2g): I love eyebrow gels as the glue to fix together your eyebrows for the polished look. Without it, I feel like my eyebrows are incomplete. When I am not wearing any makeup whatsoever, I sometimes like to use this just to comb and set my eyebrows with a little bit of a tint. Shade: Brown

Maybelline Colour Tattoo Cream Gel Eyeshadow (£4.99/4g): I once owned four and loved them to bits. Now I’m down to one. Cream products are not the best to keep for longevity as they dry out really quickly, making it harder to blend and that was what I dealt with. I’m left to my last shade which was the first one I ever purchased. My goal is to use it as a base or a wash of colour, until it completely dries out which is going to be soon. Shade: On and On Bronze

Maybelline Lasting Gel Eyeliner (£7.99): If you are slowly getting into gel eyeliner, this is a great product because it also comes with a brush for some practice. However, I hardly use that brush and opt for my Zoeva 317 eyeliner brush because it’s the perfect shape for a winged eyeliner and causes less hassle. The problem with this product is that I need to set it with either eyeshadow or another eyeliner because of how creamy it is. Nonetheless, I have almost hit pan (well I can see the bottom of it) but as I no longer wear eyeliner everyday, it will take longer than usual to hit pan properly. Shade: Black

Maybelline Master Ink Matte Liquid Eyeliner (£4.99/9g)I love using this eyeliner to set my gel eyeliner because it’s smudge-proof, but if I’m just going for a simple eyeliner minus the wing, then this is what I would usually use because it’s so easy to use with minimum slip ups. And, I prefer matte finish liners than satin but it’s great that they offer both options and I know NYX has the same deal too!

Rimmel Waterproof Soft Kohl Kajal Pencil (£3.99/1.2g): I have two and I prefer the nude than the black, the latter smudges a lot by the end of the day. I used to wear eyeliner in my waterline a lot but now it’s only on occasions because it looks too harsh especially with the black eyeliner. I have moved towards brown and nude liners and I much prefer eyeliner for the upper lash line since it looks neater. Shades: Black and Nude

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara (£7.99/9.5g): I think Maybelline have the best mascaras in the drugstore, if you like plastic or thick wands like theirs. I usually buy waterproof mascara but this one works well when I’m not crying. I don’t usually follow the 3 month rule of mascaras, and would throw them away once they start to get clumpy or dry. Shade: Black

LIPS

IMG_20170129_205407.jpg

Barry M Lip Liner (£2.99/9g): Hands down one of the best MLBB pencils. I never felt the need to go out and buy a MAC lip pencil no matter how raved it was. I was recommended this by my friend and I use it everyday to the point it’s always my base lip colour no matter what lip product I was going to use over it – it just evens out my lip colour and brings life back to it. If you ever want a good affordable lip pencil, definitely check this one out. Shade: no.6

Maybelline Lasting Drama Lip Pencil (£4/2.5g): It’s actually £4.99 but I bought it for £4. This is one of the most comfortable matte lip colours that last all day, and I’ve been loving the dark lips in the winter (who doesn’t though?). This is the easiest to mix with other lip products as I can easily wipe off any transfer on the pencil itself. Shade: Berry Much

Rimmel Lasting Finish Kate Moss Matte Lipstick (£5.49/4g): Almost everyone I know who loves makeup owns this lipstick in this exact shade too. It’s a really pretty wine colour that is great for day and night and it complements every skin tone too! The one annoying thing about it is that the transfer is real. It goes everywhere! Nonetheless, it is a comfortable matte and it does smell nice. I am trying to wear this everyday (or mixed with my other colours) to try and finish it by Easter. Shade: 107 

Reading back, I have a lot of drugstore products that I use everyday! They are not necessarily products I use all at once, but if I ever find the time of day to do it, then why not! 😉 I realised it’s an incredibly long post, but I hope it inspires others to shop their own stash in case they ever feel a stalemate with their makeup collection like I had, and a great way of saving money by preventing yourself from buying any more. I hope you have a wonderful week, and your January went well as a trial month of 2017.

tamanna x

 

Leave a Reply

