YouTube Made Me Buy It part one

Have you heard of those people who buy things to make them happy? I am one of them, unfortunately, and from my posts, I tend to by makeup a lot. It hit me hard this Easter as you wonderful readers could tell, so I am going to try my hardest to minimise my spending on excessive makeup 🙂 This post (and series!) was inspired by Thrift Thick on YouTube, who was part of my subscribing spree as I decluttered my feed of super big and constantly sponsored beauty gurus. If you want to watch something new and fresh, I totally check her out!

I was getting into makeup a few years ago which was also the same time that I was getting into YouTube so most of my collection was due to the recommendations of beauty gurus. But, lately there have been questions of particular brands and products that are hyped seasonally – be it from PR packages to sponsors or even affiliations. I have selected a bunch of both high end and drugstore products which I bought due to YouTube recommendations and if I would repurchase it. I’ll try my best not to describe the product but rather my own opinions on why I like/don’t like. To keep posts short, I’ll do a few products each time. Hope you enjoy this series 🙂

  1. theBalm Mary Lou Manizer (£17.50): Out of everything that YouTube beauty gurus have recommended, this is my favourite product. A little goes a long way and I like to think it complements many skin tones. I would definitely repurchase and would probably buy more face products from theBalm or their liquid lipstick.
  2. Milani Baked Blush (£6): If it wasn’t for this blush, I wouldn’t have bothered getting into the product. I have Luminoso and Rose D’Roro which I love for any occasion, whether I have heavy eyes, strong lips, or the complete opposite. I would definitely repurchase or buy more shades. As we are reaching summer time in the northern hemisphere, glowy cheeks are the bomb and if you’re not used to highlighters, a shimmery blush does a great job.
  3. Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz (£15.50): Probably one of the most hyped products on YouTube, I caved and bought an expensive pencil. I have thick brows so I don’t need to do as much work to fill them but it’s nice to keep them polished. I do think this brow product is brilliant but there have been many cheaper alternatives as of lately. For now, I won’t be repurchasing but if I feel like the alternatives don’t hold up, then I probably will repurchase it.

I will probably update this post with images and whatnot, but for now, I am going to keep it with three products per post (so as it stands, it’ll probably be four more posts) and I will spread them across the weeks so I’ll write them as a form of procrastination from my university essays. I hope you all have a great day!

thisspontaneouslifestyle

3 thoughts on “YouTube Made Me Buy It part one

Leave a Reply

