This week

I’m going to cut to the chase: I spent more money this week, both online and in store. Here are my purchases from this week.

Since the start of the academic year (September here in the UK), NYX had finally arrived in the UK, from online retailers of feelunique and very, to in-store Boots. Two weeks ago, my local Boots brought in a NYX counter so I just had to see it in person. From Boots, I bought two products from NYX, and one from L’oreal.

Cc9mErEW8AAsNSt

Photo is from @BOOTSUK on Instagram

Despite buying BECCA’s Champagne Pop, I couldn’t help but buy a liquid illuminator especially for Spring and Summer. I have also been getting into blushers and although I love my Milani Baked Blushes (Luminoso and Rose D’Oro), I wanted to own a matte blush that still looked natural. Originally, I was going to look into Sleek (a brand which I LOVE and is looking forward to their cream contour kits) but was disappointed with the shade range they had on stock so I stuck with NYX. I bought the Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator in ‘gleam’ and the High Definition Blush in ‘amber’.

I also bought the L’Oreal Infallible Fixing Mist  – I already own MAC Fix+ and the travel size All Nighter Setting Spray by Urban Decay but looking for cheaper alternatives that do just as much of a good job is beneficial. It was either between this and the NYX setting sprays, but L’Oreal’s Fixing Mist is £7.99 for 100ml whilst NYX is £7 for 60ml – just some fast mathematics there. Fixing/Setting sprays are great to make your makeup last longer, get rid of the cakey look that powders leave and it makes your face feel so fresh which is perfect for the Spring/Summer days.

As mentioned in last week’s post, I bought another Lush Kitchen shower gel. It arrived this week! To those who have used their So White bath bomb during the Christmas period (I practically wore it in the stockroom), the shower gel doesn’t fail to remind you of it with its apple scent as it is a play on from Snow White. The bottle size is really handy especially when I go to the gym or travel within the country. 20160317_134750

Last but not least, was the impulse buy. According to Cocktail Cosmetics, us Brits won’t get our hands on the Violet Voss Holy Grail Palette until May (which is coincidentally my birthday month – hint hint hint), but I have heard great things about the Zoeva palettes. I was browsing on Beauty Bay to see which one appeals to me, and although the WHOLE Spectrum range (released just a couple of months ago!) was appealing, the Nude Spectrum palette just won me over – I’m a sucker for neutrals that have both cool and warm shades. I already own the Zoeva Classic Brush set (love love love) so I was excited to explore the makeup side of Zoeva.

It is beautiful. Incredibly pigmented with one swipe – both finger and brush! Furthermore, it is buttery and blends so nicely. Obviously, the shimmers are better than mattes but the mattes do not feel chalky whatsoever. It has 15 shades which for £28.50, is totally worth it! I have heard many things about the Cocoa Blend palette, but I have the Naked 2 and Tartelette palettes so I’m not planning to invest in any other eye-shadow palettes in the foreseeable future.

What products would you recommend? Any surprise hits – do let me know! I hope you enjoyed reading this post, and I hope that I don’t do any more for a while because it shows how much money goes into things that I don’t really need 😉

thisspontaneouslifestyle

 

One thought on “This week

Leave a Reply

