Love Letters to the Dead

For my 18th birthday, I received a Kindle Paperwhite as a birthday present from my family. It hasn’t diminished my love for physical copies but it means less stress on breaking the spine or folding pages. I am also more weary about how much to spend on a e-book, as I refuse to spend any more than £2.50 and it must be proportionate to the amount of pages it has. I bought Love Letters to the Dead for 99p on the Kindle Store, and I do not regret reading it at all.

If you’re familiar with the structure and similar narrative of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, then you won’t have any trouble with this novel. It took me no less than 2 days because I finished reading it last night at 1am. But it also shows how much of an easy read it is. Another thing that kept me going is that it is written from a first person perspective, something I personally prefer as it is the whole ‘putting yourself in their shoes’ kinda thing. The title is self-explanatory, the protagonist Laurel is writing letters to the dead, particularly famous people so from Kurt Cobain to Heath Ledger. She chooses her recipients in relation to the part of the narrative she’s in – so for example, she writes to Amy Winehouse because she just happened to be listening to her songs. The main theme is obviously grief, and how to deal with it in everyday circumstances. I’m not going to say who it’s about in case anyone is interested in reading it but as she’s a teenager, she’s obviously going to find and struggle with high school romance and friendships. So, beware: there are generic young adult cliches.

I did like the protagonist, because she was just an ordinary girl (off the top of my head), not the whole “she has all of these perfect features yet no guy recognises her”. But all of the things I liked about the novel can also be a criticism, because it’s not a story that has stayed on my mind in the next few days (bare in mind I read it almost 14 hours ago) but the depth of the novel isn’t that deep than other novels that I’ve read. So I’ll probably forget their names in the next week.

What novels would you recommend? I’ll do more reviews even though I’m not that great and because I’m not in university right now, it gives me an opportunity to catch up on things! I am on Goodreads, so if you want – add me!

thisspontaneouslifestyle

 

Leave a Reply

