My 5 unspoken makeup favo(u)rites

Depending on where you are, the word favourite does not have a universal agreement, hence the use of brackets in the title. Lately, I have been getting into my beauty products and I thought, instead of sharing my makeup collection (I have 5 foundations for no reason), why not instead discuss my ‘underrated‘ favourites. The good thing about these products are that they are affordable and most are easily accessible, depending on where you’re from. These are all in my opinion, so if you’ve had a different experience or recommendations then by all means, do share! 🙂

  1. The Body Shop Camomile Eye and Lip Makeup Remover (£9): this is the best thing since waterproof mascara because it removes it effortlessly. In fact, the camomile range from the Body Shop is my favourite, I also recommend the cleansing oil. The great thing about the Body Shop is that they do frequent sales and if you have O2 priority like me, then you save even more money. [Instructions: shake the bottle to mix the solutions]20160301_152139
  2. Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighter (£3): I have the Mary Lou Manizer by the Balm (£17.50, bought it for £11) and though I adore that highlighter, I cannot undermine Revolution. It is so pigmented and the colour I have is so beautiful! I use it more or less everyday but as I have broken it (which explains the cheap price too – cheap packaging), I can no longer travel with it. [note: in the UK, Revolution is a Superdrug exclusive]20160301_152251
  3. Maybelline Color Tattoos 24Hr Cream Eyeshadows (£4.99): These are amazing. I can’t even contain my love for these eyeshadows, as a primer or eyeshadow. I have heard some shades are dupes for the MAC paint pots but even then, I cannot bring myself to spend £18 on a pot. I prefer using my fingers to apply onto my eyelids as well as blend, since they dry so quickly! Realistically, I wouldn’t say they are 24 hour but they do a damn good job. [left to right: Creme d’Nude, Creamy beige, On & on bronze, and Pink gold]20160228_162151
  4. NYX Slim Lip Line Pencil in Natural (£2.95): Technically, the NYX lip liners are not unspoken but it does get overshadowed by other brands. Again, another MAC dupe, I wanted a colour that paired well with my MAC lipstick in Taupe (my first ever MAC lipstick) without spending a ridiculous amount of money on a pencil. Now, I’m not hating on high end makeup, I have plenty now but I am quite picky. Natural is a beautiful colour which I almost wear everyday and from the Beauty Store, I bought mine on a 3 for 2 on NYX and the delivery is only £1.95!20160301_1524145. Flat Top Kabuki Brush (£2.99): I have A LOT of brushes solely from Real Techniques, but I saw really good reviews from this. I bought mine for £1.50 on a free delivery but I am stating the prices from when I wrote this post. It is incredibly soft, blends your foundation and concealer really well and it doesn’t go out of shape after washing it. I have to say though, the handle is a bit loose but it is really cheap. 20160301_152457This post took me a while to write and upload, with the struggles of uploading various images as well as university, I have more posts coming up thanks to my drafts so this time next week you may be sick of me! I hope this post helps and if you have other alternatives, I would be grateful to hear them. Have a great day 🙂

thisspontaneouslife(blog?)

6 thoughts on “My 5 unspoken makeup favo(u)rites

    • Hi Isabelle, my two recommendations would be creme d’nude and on&on bronze. Creme is good as a base to cancel out any discolouration and bronze goes well for a simple look for a shimmer on the eyelids 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

